Petition for Attorney General Curtis Hill

We, the undersigned, call for Indiana Attorney General Curtis Hill Jr. to withdraw Indiana from the shameful lawsuit joining 19 other states Attorneys General to invalidate the Affordable Care Act and specifically take away protections for people with pre-existing health conditions.

The sworn duty of our Indiana Attorney General is "to protect the rights, freedoms, and safety you enjoy as a citizen of the Hoosier state." Causing Hoosiers with pre-existing conditions to lose health insurance coverage will take away rights, lose freedom, and make unsafe the lives of tens of thousands, if not millions.

Attorney General Hill, for the sake of Hoosiers' lives, please withdraw Indiana from this lawsuit immediately.

Click here to sign this petition.


February 26, 2018: Indiana Attorney General Curtis Hill Jr. announced that Indiana had joined 19 other states* in a suit filed in Federal court in Texas to invalidate the remaining elements of the Affordable Care Act (ACA). In his statement Hill said, "The whole house of the Affordable Care Act must come crumbling down."

The ACA helped over 340,000 Hoosiers obtain health care. According to the nonpartisan Kaiser Family Foundation [], 1.1 million Hoosiers under 65 have pre-existing conditions that would have made them uninsurable before the ACA's reforms were enacted.

June 6, 2018: US Attorney General Jeff Sessions announced the Justice Department would not defend against the suit from the 20 states and the provisions of the ACA that protect consumers with pre-existing medical conditions, meaning that insurance companies could again deny coverage or charge higher rates to Hoosiers with pre-existing illnesses like diabetes, cancer, or high blood pressure.

Contact the Attorney General's office today. Tell them what you think and let them know you have signed the petition.

AG web page:

File a complaint by email:

File a complaint online:

File a complaint by phone: 800.382.5516 or 317.232.6330.

* The other 19 states [tell friends from those states]: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.

Again, please click here to sign our petition.